News Item }


by TSSA | Apr 11, 2022
Annual awards honour leaders in public safety

The Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA) is now accepting nominations for its 2022 Safety Awards, which honour Ontario leaders in public safety.

The Safety Awards are granted every year by TSSA to celebrate individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to Ontario’s public safety in TSSA’s regulated sectors: Fuels; Boilers and Pressure Vessels and Operating Engineers; Elevating and Amusement Devices and Ski Lifts.

TSSA’s Safety Awards winners will be announced on September 28, 2022. Organizations or individuals can be nominated in two award categories that recognize acts and initiatives that enhance public safety for Ontarians:

• Impact Awards highlight significant contributions to safety or a significant initiative or project that go above and beyond regulatory compliance.

• Legacy Awards recognize impact over time for persons or organizations that have demonstrated a history of safety conscientiousness.

The following were recipients TSSA’s Safety Awards in 2021:

- Socrates Furtado of SNC Lavalin Operations and Maintenance for the Greater Toronto Airports Authority (GTAA), a certified First-Class Engineer who has made safety his number one priority at the GTAA cogeneration and central utilities plant for more than 15 years in his role as Manager, Operations and Maintenance.

- André Meyer Director of Fields Operations Training, Quality Allied Elevators (QAE), who for more than 21 years has ensured everyone at QAE has advanced training on all TSSA and manufacturer recommended education.

Bonnie Rose, President and CEO of TSSA, says recognizing safety leadership is an important part of the public safety regulator’s work to promote awareness of and encourage best practices.

“At TSSA, we believe safety is a shared responsibility and collaboration with our industry partners is essential to our efforts to improve safety outcomes,” says Rose. “Recognizing award recipients’ above and beyond efforts to improve training and workplace practices shines an important spotlight on industry and community leaders who are truly role models in their field and are making a difference for a safer Ontario.”

Nominations of individuals and organizations working in TSSA’s regulated sectors will be accepted until June 30, 2022. Online nomination forms can be accessed at TSSA’s website.

About TSSA
Throughout Ontario, the Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA) enforces provincial safety regulations and enhances public safety. TSSA regulates the safety of amusement devices, boilers and pressure vessels, elevating devices, fuels, operating engineers, and ski lifts. Its range of safety services includes public education, certification, licensing and registration, engineering design review, inspections, investigations, safety management consultation, compliance support, enforcement, and prosecution activities.

To Top